LACF Scholarships in Manitoba 

There are currently two LACF Scholarships at the University of Manitoba.

1. Andre Schwabenbauer / University of Manitoba MLA Scholarship

2. Maglin-LACF Scholarship

2014 Field trip across the Canadian Prairies / image: from website

1. Andre Schwabenbauer / University of Manitoba MLA Scholarship

Context and Description

The LACF Andre Schwabenbauer Scholarship was originally established (2006) in memory of Andre Schwabenbauer, a past CSLA president. The scholarship aims "to recognize and foster excellence in design" because Andre felt strongly that landscape architecture is first and foremost a design profession. In 2018 and with the consent of the Schwabenbauer family, the original Scholarship was restructured into two distinct and fully endowed scholarship awards including one at the University of Manitoba and the other at Northern Alberta Institue of Technology (NAIT). The Andre Schwabenbauer / University of Manitoba MLA Scholarship of $2,000 is awarded to a deserving student enrolled in the MLA program, Faculty of Architecture, Department of Landscape Architecture at the University of Manitoba.

Criteria and Award Process

The scholarship is awarded to an outstanding student in the final year in the UofM MLA program. The school faculty recommends a candidate who exemplifies the objectives of the scholarship and the nomination is reviewed and approved by LACF. The criteria are left purposefully general, trusting that the faculty of the schools know their students and can recognize achievement and potential. The nomination is forwarded for approval in early November and the scholarship is presented at the end of the Fall semester.  

Who was Andre Schwabenbauer? 

Andre Schwabenbauer _ IFLA Jury_2003

Andre Schwabenbauer, FCSLA, ALAA, was a talented and respected landscape architect based in Edmonton. Besides being a successful practitioner operating his own firm, he had a deep understanding of the duty of service one owes one's profession. He served as President of the Alberta Association of Landscape Architects, the AALA representative to the Board of Governors of the CSLA and then as CSLA President, the youngest individual to have held that post. He was inducted into the CSLA College of Fellows in 2003, the year he was diagnosed with leukemia. He passed away two years later at the age of 42. Andre's family, friends and colleagues created an endowment fund in his name, under the auspices of the Landscape Architecture Canada Foundation. Andre was so highly regarded that the CSLA also created an award in his name. The CSLA Schwabenbauer Award is granted annually to a member of the CSLA in recognition of their unselfish and devoted service to the Society at the national level over a period of not less than five years.  


LACF is grateful to members of the CSLA and MALA communities and to the Schwabenbauer family and friends for their generosity over the years in supporting the establishment and growth of the Schwabenbauer endowment fund.


2. Maglin-LACF Scholarship

A scholarship of $5,000 will be awarded to one outstanding student studying landscape architecture each year to a student at the University of Manitoba, MLA.

Applicants should be:
a) Currently enrolled in the program listed above;
b) A Canadian citizen or permanent resident;
c) Nominated by the faculty; and
d) Demonstrate excellence in their studies.

Note that a student may receive this scholarship in addition to other LACF Scholarships – there are no restrictions on the attribution of the Maglin-LACF Scholarship.

 Saskatchewan >