Research Grants National Jury

The jury evaluates submissions based on how projects fit within established LACF objectives. They need to be achievable, supported and led by qualified proponents. - LACF Research Grants Committee 

Meet the Jury for the 2024 Research Grants Program

All research grant proposals are adjudicated and awarded by a national jury composed of six individuals from public, and private practice with academic credentials representing the Atlantic, Quebec, Ontario, Prairie, British Columbia regions and Canada’s north. 

Jury Foreman

Ed Versteeg is Instructor, Landscape Architecture, Dalhousie University and Principal, Ed Versteeg Landscape Architect.  His practice spans the range from urban planning to large scale residential design projects, the common element being that much of his work culminates in built form. His work on park planning and trails has been recognized by the CSLA and ASLA with three national honour awards.  Ed holds a Bachelor of Commerce (St. Mary’s), Bachelor of Design (NSCAD) and Master of Landscape Architecture (Guelph).  Ed served seven years on the executive of APALA including two years as APALA representative to the board of the CSLA; he assisted with establishing the Peter Klynstra Memorial Scholarship (a joint effort of APALA and LACF).  Ed joined the LACF jury in 2012 and the LACF Board in 2015.  Ed has served on the Grants Committee for the past 5 years and is responsible for the evaluation system employed by the Jury. 


Nicole Valois is a landscape architect and professor at the École d'urbanisme et d'architecture de paysage at the University of Montreal.  She teaches landscape heritage, project methodology and workshops on urban spaces.  As an Associate Researcher and the Canada Research Chair in Built Heritage, she has collaborated in several studies on landscape heritage, including the campus of the Université de Montréal and Expo ’67.  She has publications by l'Université de Montréal and the University Press of Perpignan. Here recent research is partially funded by the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC), and is focused on the values of Canadian public spaces of the modern period.  Nicole has been a member of numerous juries and committees, including the Canada Council for the Arts Lettres du Québec.  She was recently appointed a member of the Montréal Heritage Council.  Nicole has been a past recipient of  LACF grants (individually and as part of collaboratives).  


John Zvonar is a graduate of the University of Manitoba (1988).  Since 1992 he has focused his attention on protecting nationally-significant cultural landscapes for the federal government across Canada and abroad.   These historic places are under the jurisdiction of Parks Canada, the Parliamentary Precinct in Ottawa and other federal departments such as Veterans Affairs Canada.   John has long been associated with the Alliance for Historic Landscape Preservation, an interdisciplinary forum for exploring and exchanging ideas about historic landscapes and their stewardship.  He is also actively involved with the Cultural Landscapes committee of ICOMOS Canada and is now the voting member for Canada at the International Scientific Committee for Cultural Landscapes.  John was honoured with his election to the CSLA College of Fellows in 2014 and joined the LACF jury in 2014.



Mark Bauche is an Associate with HTFC Planning & Design in Winnipeg. An alumnus of the University of Manitoba’s Environmental Design program (2003) he has worked with HTFC for the majority of his professional career. As a landscape architect Mark has varied experience on large- and small-scale design projects in a variety of sectors across Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Northwestern Ontario, including several award winners. In 2007/08 Mark spent time abroad and gained experience in a multi-disciplinary firm in the UK before returning to Winnipeg to pick up where he left off at HTFC. Outside of his work, Mark has also been involved in volunteer design projects and is a member of the Manitoba Master Gardeners Association, where he has spent many of his volunteer hours lecturing on landscape design. Mark joined the LACF jury in 2021.

British Columbia

Susan Herrington is a Professor in the in the School of Architecture and Landscape Architecture at the University of British Columbia. She teaches studios, and history and theory courses. Recently she led the Rewilding Play Design Build Intervention studio. Watch the video here.

Susan is a Landscape Architect in British Columbia and a registered Landscape Architect in the United States. She consults professionally in Canada, the United States, England, and Norway. Her research concerns history and theories of contemporary landscape architecture, including theories regarding children’s landscapes. 

She has conducted research with funding from the Graham Foundation (Chicago), the Social Science and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC), the Canada Council for the Arts, Canadian Institutes of Health Research, and in Germany with support from the German Academic Exchange. She received a UBC Killam Faculty Research Prize for 2020.

Susan is the author of five books on landscape architecture, including Cornelia Hahn Oberlander: Making the Modern Landscape, and numerous chapters and articles. Her design guidelines for outdoor play environments, Seven Cs guidelines, have been used in North America, Iran, New Zealand, China, and Scotland. She is currently writing a book on Christopher Tunnard with a grant from SSHRC (2022- 2026).

Northern Territories

Karen LeGresley Hamre, principal of Avens Associates Ltd.  She is a Fellow of the CSLA and professional member of Interpretation Canada. Karen has extensive project experience in the north, having worked in over 30 communities in the Northwest Territories and Nunavut. She has also worked in three Canadian provinces and Germany, in various private and public sector positions. Karen has owned and operated Avens Associates Ltd., from Yellowknife since 1986, providing professional consulting services in landscape architecture, environmental and interpretive planning, and project management.  Karen joined the LACF jury in 2012.

LACF thanks the Jury members for their work and their commitment.