SALA Saskatchewan Awards 

There are currently no schools of Landscape Architecture in Saskatchewan.  Student residents are invited to apply for scholarships to study outside the province.

Travelling through_ SALA CLP-PPC_ image: W. Graham 


The SALA Academic Award was established in 1986 under the auspices of the Saskatchewan Association of Landscape Architects (SALA). The initial intent of the award was to encourage and help fund the education of Saskatchewan landscape architecture students who have to leave the province for schooling. The original award was $350. In 2016 SALA and LACF established a partnership agreement and SALA transferred the management of the $55,000 endowment fund to LACF. Under the terms of the agreement, SALA continues to manage the student nomination and selection process and LACF administers and manages the fund and national communications.


The SALA Academic Award of $1,500 is awarded to a resident of Saskatchewan. The award can be held for two years but the applicant must reapply.


*Students must apply. This annual award is provided to assist Saskatchewan students registered in an accredited or recognized BLA or MLA program anywhere in the world. To qualify, the student must be a resident of Saskatchewan and must be registered in an accredited program of landscape architecture as determined by the CSLA. 

The award will be presented on the basis of:

  • Academic standing
  • Qualities of character, leadership skills and participation in student and community activities
  • Level of experience in the field
  • Level of education attained

Timeline and process

Deadline for application is October 30 of any given year. SALA reviews submissions and makes a recommendation to LACF for approval. 
Applications may be downloaded below or from the SALA web site at 
Application and procedures for the SALA Academic Award

Applications can be sent via mail or email:
Chairperson, Academic Awards Committee
SALA: attention Ms. Ingrid Thiessen
Mail: 200 – 4561 Parliament Avenue Regina SK S4W 0G3


2017-18:  Rebecca Anderson, University of British Columbia, MLA
2016-17:  30th Anniversary Award, Kathryn McCudden, University of Manitoba, MLA


LACF is grateful to SALA members, affiliates and freinds who envisioned, established and nurtured the idea of creating a scholarship  to encourage Saskatchewan students to pursue an education in landscape architecture.

 Alberta >