A National Jury

Determining the Annual Grants award winners 


The jury evaluates submissions based on how projects fit within established LACF objectives. They need to be achievable, supported and led by qualified proponents.  … LACF Grants Committee 

Meet the jury 2018

All annual grant proposals are adjudicated and awarded by a national jury composed of six individuals from public, and private practice with academic credentials representing the Atlantic, Quebec, Ontario, Prairie, British Columbia regions and Canada’s north.  

Atlantic Provinces 

Hope Parnham is a landscape architect and planner working in Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island and is also a research associate with the Climate Research Lab at the University of Prince Edward Island. She has been working in the field of climate change adaptation through planning and design for over ten years.  Hope is currently working towards a Ph.D. in Environmental Science studying the impacts of shoreline alterations and structures (i.e. seawalls) on sandy beach systems.  Hope holds a Bachelor of Science (St. Francis Xavier), Bachelor of Environmental Design (U of Manitoba) and Master of Landscape Architecture (U of Manitoba).  Hope is a member of the CSLA Task Force on Climate Change and is co-chair of the IFLA Committee on Climate Change.  She has served on the executive of APALA for the past 4 years, including two years as president.  In October 2017 she will take on the role of the APALA representative to the board of the CSLA.  


Vincent Asselin, C.Q., FCSLA, AAPQ is a Landscape architect of great talent and ambassador and promoter of the expertise of Quebec in his discipline. In the 1980s, he teamed up with Malaka Ackaoui, then with Ron and Sachi Williams to create, in Montreal, WAA (the acronym of Williams, Asselin, Ackaoui and Associates), a company dedicated to landscape architecture, urbanism and urban design. This company, now internationally renowned, has a branch in Shanghai, China, where it carries out a growing number of urban projects. The creations of Mr. Asselin, reconciling heritage and innovation, are already benefiting millions of people here and elsewhere. They do not fail to arouse the satisfaction of local communities and the interest of critics everywhere because of their natural and inviting appearance.


John Zvonar is a graduate of the University of Manitoba (1988).  Since 1992 he has focused his attention on protecting nationally-significant cultural landscapes for the federal government across Canada and abroad.   These historic places are under the jurisdiction of Parks Canada, the Parliamentary Precinct in Ottawa and other federal departments such as Veterans Affairs Canada.   John has long been associated with the Alliance for Historic Landscape Preservation, an interdisciplinary forum for exploring and exchanging ideas about historic landscapes and their stewardship.  He is also actively involved with the Cultural Landscapes committee of ICOMOS Canada and is now the voting member for Canada at the International Scientific Committee for Cultural Landscapes.  John was honoured with his election to the CSLA College of Fellows in 2014 and joined the LACF jury in 2014.


Nataša Juck obtained her Bachelor's degree in Landscape Architecture from Brno University of Technology in the Czech Republic and her Masters of Landscape Architecture from the University of Manitoba. She worked in Guelph before moving to Winnipeg with her family in 1973. Nataša received a Master of Landscape Architecture in 1984.  She started work at Hilderman Witty Crosby Hanna and Associates in 1985, became an associate in 1989. and has contributed to the growth of the firm until her recent retirement.   Nataša has worked on a diverse range of projects, bringing her passion for design, horticulture, biology and ecology to each project. She has also been an active member of MALA for many years, a volunteer for the Herb Society of Manitoba, and a lecturer on landscape design and ecology.  Nataša was inducted as a life member of the Manitoba Association of Landscape Architecture in 2013 and as a Fellow of the Canadian Society of Landscape Architects in 2015.  She joined the LACF jury in 2015.

British Columbia:

Randy Sharp is a graduate of the University of Oregon in Landscape Architecture.  In 1977 he joined the urban design team for the redevelopment of Granville Island for CMHC. In 1980, Randy Sharp established a practice in Vancouver that has grown into Sharp & Diamond Landscape Architecture Inc., committed to ecological based solutions for site development that blends landscape and architecture.  Major achievements include the Vancouver International Airport (YVR), the Seymour Filtration Plant (Metro Vancouver), Broadway Tech Centre (Bentall Kennedy), and the headquarters of Mountain Equipment Co-op (MEC).  He recently retired from the firm to focus on research, writing and teaching, as well as consulting in land development, green building and water management.  Mr. Sharp is a guest lecturer in the School of Architecture at UBC, the City Program at SFU, and the Centre for Architectural Ecology at BCIT.  


Karen LeGresley Hamre, principal of Avens Associates Ltd.  She is a Fellow of the CSLA and professional member of Interpretation Canada. Karen has extensive project experience in the north, having worked in over 30 communities in the Northwest Territories and Nunavut. She has also worked in three Canadian provinces and Germany, in various private and public sector positions. Karen has owned and operated Avens Associates Ltd., from Yellowknife since 1986, providing professional consulting services in landscape architecture, environmental and interpretive planning, and project management.  Karen joined the LACF jury in 2012 and is the current LACF Secretary.

LACF thanks the Jury members for their work and their commitment. 

Current Annual Grants Portfolio >