Manitoba

Les bourses d’études FAPC au Manitoba  

L’Université du Manitoba (Faculty of Architecture, Department of Landscape Architecture) offre un programme d’architecture de paysage agréé. 

Excursion éducative à travers les Prairies canadiennes 2014/ image : du site Web umanitoba.ca

Andre Schwabenbauer Scholarship / Université du Manitoba 

Contexte et description

La bourse d'études Andre Schwabenbauer de la FAPC a été créée en 2006 à la mémoire d'Andre Schwabenbauer, ancien président de l'AAPC. La bourse vise à " reconnaître et à encourager l'excellence en matière de conception ", car Andre était convaincu que l'architecture de paysage est avant tout une profession de conception. En 2018 et avec le consentement de la famille Schwabenbauer, la bourse originale a été restructurée en deux bourses d'études distinctes et entièrement dotées, dont une à l'Université du Manitoba et l'autre au Northern Alberta Institue of Technology (NAIT). La bourse d'études Andre Schwabenbauer / Université du Manitoba MLA de 2 000 $ est attribuée à un étudiant méritant inscrit au programme MLA, à la faculté d'architecture, au département d'architecture du paysage de l'Université du Manitoba.

Critères et processus d’attribution

La bourse est attribuée à un étudiant exceptionnel en dernière année du programme MLA de l'Université de Montréal. Le corps enseignant de l'école recommande un candidat qui incarne les objectifs de la bourse et la nomination est examinée et approuvée par la FAPC. Les critères sont volontairement laissés généraux, en espérant que les professeurs des écoles connaissent leurs étudiants et peuvent reconnaître les réalisations et le potentiel. La nomination est transmise pour approbation début novembre et la bourse est remise à la fin du semestre d'automne.  

Qui était Andre Schwabenbauer?

Andre Schwabenbauer _ Jury de la FIAP_2003

Andre Schwabenbauer (AAAPC, ALAA) était un architecte paysagiste respecté d’Edmonton. Propriétaire prospère d’un cabinet d’architecture de paysage, il incarnait le sens du devoir. Il a été président de l’Alberta Association of Landscape Architects, représentant de l’AALA au Conseil des gouverneurs de l’AAPC, et président de l’AAPC (le plus jeune président de l’histoire de l’AAPC). Il a été nommé à l’Ordre des associés de l’AAPC en 2003, année où il a reçu son diagnostic de leucémie. Il est décédé deux ans plus tard à l’âge de 42 ans. La famille, les amis et les collègues d’Andre ont créé un fonds de dotation en son nom, sous l’égide de la Fondation de l’architecture de paysage du Canada. Andre jouissait d’une telle estime que l’AAPC a également créé une bourse en son nom. La bourse Schwabenbauer de l’AAPC est décernée chaque année à un membre de l’AAPC en reconnaissance de son altruisme à l’égard de l’Association depuis une période d’au moins cinq ans.    

Soutien 

La FAPC est reconnaissante envers les membres de l’AAPC et de la MALA, ainsi que la famille Schwabenbauer pour leur générosité qui a permis la création et la croissance du fonds de dotation Schwabenbauer.

 Saskatchewan >

Manitoba

LACF-FAPC Scholarships in Manitoba 

There is currently one LACF-FAPC Scholarship in Manitoba and one accredited landscape architecture program at the University of Manitoba, Faculty of Architecture, Department of Landscape Architecture. 

2014 Field trip across the Canadian Prairies / image: from umanitoba.ca website

1/ Andre Schwabenbauer / University of Manitoba MLA Scholarship

Context  and Description

The LACF Andre Schwabenbauer Scholarship was originally established (2006) in memory of Andre Schwabenbauer, a past CSLA president. The scholarship aims "to recognize and foster excellence in design" because Andre felt strongly that landscape architecture is first and foremost a design profession. In 2018 and with the consent of the Schwabenbauer family, the original Scholarship was restructured into two distinct and fully endowed scholarship awards including one at the University of Manitoba and the other at Northern Alberta Institue of Technology (NAIT). The Andre Schwabenbauer / University of Manitoba MLA Scholarship of $1,000 is awarded to a deserving student enrolled in the MLA program, Faculty of Architecture, Department of Landscape Architecture at the University of Manitoba.

Criteria and Award Process

The scholarship is awarded to an outstanding student in the final year in the UofM MLA program. The school faculty recommends a candidate who exemplifies the objectives of the scholarship and the nomination is reviewed and approved by LACF. The criteria are left purposefully general, trusting that the faculty of the schools know their students and can recognize achievement and potential. The nomination is forwarded for approval in early November and the scholarship is presented at the end of the Fall semester.  

Who was Andre Schwabenbauer? 

Andre Schwabenbauer _ IFLA Jury_2003

Andre Schwabenbauer, FCSLA, ALAA, was a talented and respected landscape architect based in Edmonton. Besides being a successful practitioner operating his own firm, he had a deep understanding of the duty of service one owes one's profession. He served as President of the Alberta Association of Landscape Architects, the AALA representative to the Board of Governors of the CSLA and then as CSLA President, the youngest individual to have held that post. He was inducted into the CSLA College of Fellows in 2003, the year he was diagnosed with leukemia. He passed away two years later at the age of 42. Andre's family, friends and colleagues created an endowment fund in his name, under the auspices of the Landscape Architecture Canada Foundation. Andre was so highly regarded that the CSLA also created an award in his name. The CSLA Schwabenbauer Award is granted annually to a member of the CSLA in recognition of their unselfish and devoted service to the Society at the national level over a period of not less than five years.  

Scholars

Recipients of the Andre Schwabenbauer / U of Manitoba MLA Scholarship 

  • 2018: Elmira Sanati Nia, University of Manitoba MLA

Recipients of the Andre Schwabenbauer Scholarship 2006 -2017

  • 2017: Vincent Javet, (University of Toronto MLA), Lindsey McCain, (University of Guelph BLA), Ms. Luozijie (Katherine) Xie, (University of Guelph MLA), Nicole Alden, (University of British Columbia),  Marianne Pascual, (Université de Montréal MAP),  Dilaxshy Sivagurunathan, (University of Manitoba MLA)
  • 2016: Tasha Sangha (University of British Columbia MLA), Vincent Tang (University of Manitoba MLA), Andrea Graham (University of Guelph BLA), Julia Taucer (University of Guelph MLA), Rachel Salmela (University of Toronto MLA), and Nora Topalian (Université de Montréal MLA) 
  • 2015: Michelle Peeters, (BLA program, University of Guelph), Emily French, (MLA candidate, University of Guelph)
  • 2014: Caroline Magar, (Université de Montréal)
  • 2013: Meagan Esopenko, (University of Toronto)
  • 2012: Michelle Campbell, (University of British Columbia)
  • 2011: Trent Workman, (University of Manitoba)
  • 2010: Ana Cureca and David Mugford, (University of Guelph)
  • 2009: Elaine Fournelle, (University of Montreal) 
  • 2008: Andrea Marin, (University of Toronto)
  • 2007: Jason Lam, (University of British Columbia)
  • 2006: Andrea Kennedy, (University of Manitoba)

Support 

LACF is grateful to members of the CSLA and MALA communities and to the Schwabenbauer family and friends for their generosity over the years in supporting the establishment and growth of the Schwabenbauer endowment fund.

 Saskatchewan >