Peter Jacobs Indigenous Scholarship

Read the press release announcing the Peter Jacobs Indigenous Scholarship

Deadline: August 1st, 2022

LACF awards the Peter Jacobs Indigenous Scholarship to a student who demonstrates achievement, creativity, leadership, and dedication to the empowerment of Indigenous people and landscapes through study, design, research or engagement. We welcome Canadian Indigenous students enrolled in accredited landscape architecture programs in Canada to apply for this $6000 award.

The Canadian Society of Landscape Architects and the Landscape Architecture Canada Foundation established this award with the generous support of Peter Jacobs and the further support of Indspire. It reflects our commitment to advancing First Nations, Inuit, and Métis Peoples’ capacity through landscape architecture education and practice in Canada.


Canadian Indigenous students enrolled in accredited landscape architecture programs are eligible for this award. Students may be newly accepted into an accredited program or at any stage of undergraduate or graduate study. Current CSLA accredited programs include: 

  • University of Toronto: Daniels Faculty of Architecture, Landscape, and Design (Master of Landscape Architecture)
  • University of Guelph: School of Environmental Design and Rural Development (Bachelor of Landscape Architecture; Master of Landscape Architecture)
  • University of Manitoba: Faculty of Architecture – Landscape Architecture Program. (Master of Landscape Architecture)
  • University of Calgary: School of Architecture, Planning and Landscape (Master of Landscape Architecture)
  • University of British Columbia: School of Architecture and Landscape Architecture (Master of Landscape Architecture)

LACF welcomes applications from underrepresented groups, including women, people of colour, people who identify as LGBTQ or people with disabilities.

Scholarship Adjudication

The LACF Scholarship Committee will appoint a jury of at least three qualified individuals to review applications and nominate a winner for review and endorsement by the committee. Peter Jacobs and a representative of the CSLA Reconciliation Advisory Committee will be invited to participate on the jury.

Selection Criteria

The award supports First Nations, Inuit and Métis Canadians pursuing education leading to a career in landscape architecture. Applicants will be assessed on their past achievement and potential to contribute to the advancement of Indigenous people, their landscapes and the profession as judged by: 

  • Their recent academic achievements, demonstrated by grades, scholarly work and design portfolio,
  • Participation and achievement in scholarly and extracurricular activities,
  • Engagement or leadership in community or professional activities. 

The winner will permit their name, image and biographical information to be used to publicize the award.

How to Apply

Please provide the following materials along with the completed application form: 

  • Resumé – describe your relevant education, employment, extracurricular, volunteer and leadership activities, awards and list any relevant publications (2 page limit).
  • Personal statement – clearly describe how you meet the selection criteria and if you are a member of another equity seeking group. Describe your interest in and involvement with Indigenous communities, landscapes and landscape architecture. Suggest how you hope to make a difference through the practice of landscape architecture (1 page limit).
  • Portfolio – provide graphic examples of your own creative work; make clearly your role in any team work submitted (5 page, 5 MB limit).
  • Letters of reference - a maximum of two letters that reflect on your commitment and capability to empower Indigenous people and their landscapes and advance the profession of landscape architecture. 

Direct your scholarship application to Indspire: Click here to apply

Learn more about the CSLA’s Reconciliation Advisory Committee