All annual grant proposals are adjudicated and awarded by a national jury composed of six individuals from public, and private practice with academic credentials representing the Atlantic, Quebec, Ontario, Prairie, British Columbia regions and Canada’s north.  



Atlantic Provinces:  

Hope Parnham is a landscape architect and planner working in Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island and is also a research associate with the Climate Research Lab at the University of Prince Edward Island. She has been working in the field of climate change adaptation through planning and design for over ten years.  Hope is currently working towards a PhD in Environmental Science studying the impacts of shoreline alterations and structures (i.e. seawalls) on sandy beach systems.  Hope holds a Bachelor of Science (St. Francis Xavier), Bachelor of Environmental Design (UofManitoba) and Master of Landscape Architecture (UofManitoba).  Hope is a member of the CSLA Task Force on Climate Change and is co-chair of the IFLA Committee on Climate Change.  She has served on the executive of APALA for the past 4 years, including two years as president.  In October 2017 she will take on the role of the APALA representative to the board of the CSLA.  


Myke Hodgins is Principal Landscape Architect of HETA in Montreal.  As “director” of both design and business since 1986, Myke has built a team recognized for the quality of their innovative, award-winning designs. As past president of the Canadian Society of Landscape Architects (CSLA), and an invited jury member for the CSLA Awards of Excellence, Myke has demonstrated his long-time commitment to landscape architecture. His contributions were recognized when he was recently named a Fellow of the CSLA. Myke’s passion is design and he has no greater happiness than seeing the pleasure in his client’s eyes when they talk about their completed gardens and landscapes.


John Zvonar is a graduate of the University of Manitoba (1988).  Since 1992 he has focused his attention on protecting nationally-significant cultural landscapes for the federal government across Canada and abroad.   These historic places are under the jurisdiction of Parks Canada, the Parliamentary Precinct in Ottawa and other federal departments such as Veterans Affairs Canada.   John has long been associated with the Alliance for Historic Landscape Preservation, an interdisciplinary forum for exploring and exchanging ideas about historic landscapes and their stewardship.  He is also actively involved with the Cultural Landscapes committee of ICOMOS Canada and is now the voting member for Canada at the International Scientific Committee for Cultural Landscapes.  John was honoured with his election to the CSLA College of Fellows in 2014 and joined the LACF jury in 2014.


Nataša Juck obtained her bachelors degree in Landscape Architecture from Brno University of Technology in the Czech Republic and her Masters of Landscape Architecture from the University of Manitoba. She worked in Guelph before moving to Winnipeg with her family in 1973. Natasa received a Master of Landscape Architecture in 1984.  She started work at Hilderman Witty Crosby Hanna and Associates in 1985, became an associate in 1989. and has contributed to the growth of the firm until her recent retirement.   Natasa has worked on a diverse range of projects, bringing her passion for design, horticulture, biology and ecology to each project. She has also been an active member of MALA for many years, a volunteer for the Herb Society of Manitoba, and a lecturer on landscape design and ecology.  Natasa was inducted as a life member of the Manitoba Association of Landscape Architecture in 2013 and as a Fellow of the Canadian Society of Landscape Architects in 2015.  She joined the LACF jury in 2015.

British Columbia:

Randy Sharp is a graduate of the University of Oregon in Landscape Architecture.  In 1977 he joined the urban design team for the redevelopment of Granville Island for CMHC. In 1980, Randy Sharp established a practice in Vancouver that has grown into Sharp & Diamond Landscape Architecture Inc., committed to ecological based solutions for site development that blends landscape and architecture.  Major achievements include the Vancouver International Airport (YVR), the Seymour Filtration Plant (Metro Vancouver), Broadway Tech Centre (Bentall Kennedy), and the headquarters of Mountain Equipment Co-op (MEC).  He recently retired from the firm to focus on research, writing and teaching, as well as consulting in land development, green building and water management.  Mr. Sharp is a guest lecturer in the School of Architecture at UBC, the City Program at SFU, and the Centre for Architectural Ecology at BCIT.  


Karen LeGresley Hamre, principal of Avens Associates Ltd.  She is a Fellow of the CSLA and professional member of Interpretation Canada. Karen has extensive project experience in the north, having worked in over 30 communities in the Northwest Territories and Nunavut. She has also worked in three Canadian provinces and Germany, in various private and public sector positions. Karen has owned and operated Avens Associates Ltd., from Yellowknife since 1986, providing professional consulting services in landscape architecture, environmental and interpretive planning, and project management.  Karen joined the LACF jury in 2012 and is the current LACF Secretary.


LACF thanks the Jury members for their work and their commitment. 


Visit the PORTFOLIO section to learn about the award winning projects this year.